Councillor Cavanaugh resized for web

District 8

Ron Cavanaugh - District 8

1117 Highway 311
RR#6, Truro, Nova Scotia
B6L 6H7

Phone: 902-899-1027

Alternative:  902-893-4031

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Ron Cavanaugh is serving his third consecutive term as a Councillor. Mr. Cavanaugh was first elected to Council in 1988 and served to 1994. He was then re-elected in 1997.

Councillor Cavanaugh is serving as a member of the Citizen's Monitoring Committee.

About District 8

old house in district 7District 8 has a great residential growth potential due to its proximity to the Debert Air Industrial Park and the central urban core. It offers a rural setting to those who wish to have some residential space.

This district is home to Colchester County's Solid Waste Park. This mini industrial park is home to the province's 1st, second generation landfill and its technology has been a model for other Solid Waste Parks in Canada and possibly even worldwide.

Boundary Description

Bounded on the north by the northern community boundaries of Upper Kemptown, Nuttby and McCallum Settlement;

Bounded on the west by the eastern community boundaries of Moose Lake, Belmont, Crowes Mills and Central Onslow;

Bounded on the south by District 2, Town of Truro, District 1, District 6 and District 4;

Bounded on the east by the County line; and

Is comprised of the Communities of Upper Onslow, Onslow Mountain, McCallum Settlement, Nuttby, Upper North River, Central North River, North River, Upper Brookside, Upper Kemptown, Kemptown, Riversdale and a portion of Brookside.